Florida Class “D” Security Officer License Course
Florida Basic Security Officer Course - Full 40 Hour Class
The State of Florida requires a total of 40-hours of instruction for Class "D" license training. At the Firearms Training Academy, we offer the 40-hours of Class "D" training over a 4-5 day period in the classroom and includes all information required by the State of Florida for initial license applicants.
In addition to lesson instruction, every student is walked through the State application process in a step-by-step manner to ensure that the license application is complete and filled out properly. Students passing the final exam will be given proof of completion to provide to the State when they apply for the Class "D" license.
Students may also choose to start class in the evenings or on weekends. Please reserve your spot in advance either through our website or by calling us during normal business hours.
Course Topics include:
- Florida State Statutes Section 493
- Legal Issues and Liabilities
- Basic First Aid
- Fire Suppression
- Emergency Procedures
- Crime & Accident Prevention
- Professional Communication
- Terrorism Awareness
- Ethics and Professional Conduct
- Patrol Techniques
- Observation Techniques & Report Writing
- Interview Techniques and other required topics.
According to the State of Florida, applicants for security licenses must be at least 18 years of age, have no disqualifying criminal history, and be legally allowed to work in the United States.
Note to Prior License Holders:
Any individual whose D license is expired for at least one-year, is considered, upon applying for a license, an initial applicant and must submit proof of 40 hours of professional training at a facility licensed but the Division of Licensing.
This course is held on-site at the Firearms Training Academy 6319 Stirling Rd. Davie, Florida 33314
Currently course tuition is $200.00 per person